Gen 7 Chapter 2


It had been about a month since we moved to Appaloosa Plains and I was starting to get used to the place. I still hadn’t found a new best friend, but I did have a few friends that I’m sure I will have fun with, in fact I was going over to a friends after breakfast today to take advantage of our snow day!

“Hi Ms. Gils-Carbo, Is Celeste home?” I said waving. “Yes hon, she is round’ the back.” she replied in a southern-ish accent. “Thanks!!” I shouted running off to find my friend. This was going to be our first time hanging out aside from in school so I was pretty excited.We both wanted to build a snowman, so we got to work on it right away. While we were building we didn’t talk much, but I didn’t feel the need to talk really. Hanging out with Celeste was a lot like hanging out with James, it just felt right.  

After our snowman was complete then we started talking about school and other things we both liked, mainly horses! Celeste had lived in Appaloosa Plains her whole life and she had grown up with horses everywhere! I was totally jealous that she got to spend time and even RIDE while I hadn’t even so much as ever pet a horse!

“Well you know my Mom owns a horse right Gab?” Celeste said like I was just supposed to know everything about her already! “No I didn’t. Where do you all keep him?” I asked excitedly, maybe it was close enough her Mom could take us over there to see him! “He’s round’ back, if you want you can go see him. He won’t hurt ya.” Celeste replied.

I couldn’t believe my eyes! Look at that beautiful creature! I was so nervous and excited I could hardly stand it. Celeste had given me a handful of carrots to take with me but her Mom had told her it was time to go in for the night so I was on my own. I was assured he was the calmest horse I would ever meet, but I still hadn’t met any so I was I supposed to compare that to anything?

I slowly pulled a carrot out of my back pocket and held my hand flat just like Celeste told me. “He-ey Blue, you want a carrot?” I asked in a cracked voice. My nerves were getting the best of me, he was just so big I was afraid that he could easily hurt me if he wanted to. But instead he just stood there looking for a moment, I almost turned and left because I thought he wasn’t going to come to me.

But just then he took a step forward and lowered his head to my hand. Suddenly all the nervousness I felt was gone. This was the best feeling in the world, I don’t even know how to begin to describe it. I stood there petting him until my feet went numb from the cold. Then I decided it was best to head home, it was getting dark so I’m sure my parents would be mad if I was out too much later.

When I got home my Dad was watching football, which was typical. I sat down next to him so I could tell him all about my day with Celeste. He didn’t seem as excited as I was about the whole horse thing, but he did say I should have her over this weekend for a sleepover. It wasn’t long before I could tell my Dad was ready to get back to the game so I snuck off to the kitchen to call Celeste.

It didn’t take long to get in touch with her and get an answer back from her Mom. I decided I needed to talk to my own Mom now and get things set up for Friday night! It was going to be a blast, I couldn’t wait to talk to her more about horses. I wanted to know it all! Every little detail down to mucking stalls, maybe then I could show my parents I knew enough to own my own horse!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ NOTE ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The sleepover is going to be a separate part of this chapter and I should have it up soon. I am trying to make up for my lack of posting, but don’t expect a lot more updates until May/June once I’m all caught up 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gen 7 Chapter 2

  1. Kaylee says:

    I pinched myself when I saw 2 chapters. My reaction: OMG!!! :O

  2. OnendOnliYazzie says:

    finally got all caught up (: Im so happy Gabbie is starting to enjoy her time in AP and that she got to meet her first real horse! I cant wait to read all about her sleepover and her new best friend, I just hope she doesnt forget her old one lol!

  3. Mfb426 says:

    I’m excited for Gabbie; she met her first horse and is having a sleepover! AP defiantly seems like the perfect town her her, since she quite the little equestrian 🙂

Leave a Reply

