A Very Merry Christmas Special


Photobucket
Snow was falling, and all the world seemed silent. Tonight was Christmas Eve, one of the most anticipated days of the year by all the children around the world, and Longview’s children were not an exception to that rule. Inside kids and parents were both full of excitement and doing their best to prepare for Christmas morning, which was just a few hours away!
Photobucket
“I can’t believe it’s tomorrow!!” Gabbie squealed with excitement. She was helping her mom, Raina, bake fresh cookies for Santa Claus! “Can you get the cookie sheet out for me sweetie?” Raina asked her enthusiastic little girl. While she was glad Gabbie was so excited she was also a little concerned about the present she asked Santa to bring. There was no way she was going to get it, and Raina just hoped that it wouldn’t disappoint her too much.
Photobucket
“Thank you Gabbie for all your help with the cookies, you better get upstairs and get ready for bed though!” Raina said putting the cookies into the oven. “I’m on it!!” Gabbie blurted out and then turned to run upstairs. Not that she wasn’t an obedient child but the closer it got to Christmas the better behaved she had been. Raina had a feeling it was so she would be sure Santa would bring her the one thing she asked for this year.
Photobucket
The cookies were placed next to the hot cocoa, the lights on the tree were on, and everyone was fast asleep. Now it was time for that magical man we all know and love to come and make his appearance and leave presents for all the good little boys and girls. On this Christmas Eve in particular one little girl had her hopes set very high, so high that the fall if Santa didn’t deliver would be a big one. But Santa always got you what you wanted, didn’t he?
Photobucket
While she had trouble falling asleep once she did Gabbie dreamed of the one thing she wanted more than anything in the whole world, her very own horse! She was so sure that Santa had gotten her letter(ok letters!) and was going to bring her one for Christmas. Afterall hadn’t she been helpful and polite as much as one possibly can be?? In her dream her horse was the most beautiful that she had ever seen and when she rode her Gabbie felt unstoppable! Next thing she knew she was waking up Christmas morning!!!
Photobucket
“MOM! DAD! Wake up!! It’s Christmas!!” Gabbie yelled running into her parents room. “But honey it’s still dark outside.” Raina said sleepily, Fin was already getting out of bed, probably because the military had him used to getting up at the crack of dawn anyway. “I know Mom but I just can’t sleep anymore!! And I hate waiting in my room when I know all my presents are downstairs waiting to be opened!!!” Gabbie exclaimed. “Ok, just give me and your Dad a few minutes to get dressed and we will be right down, and Gabbie don’t touch anything until we get there!” Raina told Gabbie as she took off running to the living room.
Photobucket
Finally when everyone had gathered downstairs it was time to open presents! While there were none that looked big enough for a horse Gabbie was still hopeful that Santa had left a note saying her horse was outside or something like that. Afterall he wouldn’t let her down, would he? Nervous, and excited she moved forward to the first box with her name written on it.
Photobucket
Lifting the lid Gabbie held her breath and peeked inside. It wasn’t a note for a horse, it was a doll. Still there was hope, she still had several more presents to open, but one by one as she opened each of them she saw disappointment as she got more and more dolls, and furniture and finally a doll house. She tried not to show that she was upset, but it was a little hard considering she just wanted to go to her room and cry.
Photobucket
She was so sure she would get her horse. Maybe it had been too much to ask for, I mean where would Santa put a horse on his sleigh? Thoughts filled her mind on why she didn’t get what she wanted, trying to make herself feel better, but instead the more she thought about it, the more upset she got!
Photobucket
“What’s wrong Gabbie? Don’t you like your new dollhouse?” Raina asked, knowing what it was that was troubling her daughter. “Well I asked Santa for a horse.. and I didn’t get one. I don’t know why Mom, I was sooo good! Why do you think Santa didn’t get me what I asked for?” Gabbie said, tears forming in her eyes. “Well honey, he didn’t get you a horse because your father and I told him we couldn’t keep one right now.” Raina replied softly “You did nothing wrong..” she continued, trying to reassure her.
Photobucket
“Why Mom!? Please please can we get a horse!! I swear I won’t ask for anything else! You can even give all my toys away to kids who need them! Please?! I promise I will do anything!!!” Gabbie pleaded with Raina but Raina wouldn’t change her mind. She couldn’t change her mind, as much as she wished she could. “Honey your father has something he needs to tell you, maybe then you will understand why you can’t have a horse.” Raina replied motioning to Finley to come talk to Gabbie.
Photobucket
“Gabbie, we weren’t going to tell you this yet, but we are moving away from Longview.” Finley told her. “What?! Where? Why???” Gabbie exclaimed even more hurt than before. “Well we don’t know where exactly yet, but we should find out soon. That’s one of the reasons we hadn’t mentioned it yet, another is because we knew it would upset you to have to leave your friends behind.” Finley answered. Gabbie was simply speechless, this news certainly didn’t help make her feel any better about not getting her horse, but at least it showed her that Santa hadn’t let her down.
Photobucket
So Gabbie decided to set up her dollhouse and try to enjoy the holiday and take her mind off the move, and not getting the one thing she asked for. It helped a little, but no matter how hard she tried she couldn’t push it out of her mind completely.
Photobucket
Just as Gabbie was about to head upstairs to get herself ready for bed when Raina stopped her. “Hey, I found another present for you that didn’t get put out last night.” Raina exclaimed, hoping that this might at least make Gabbie feel a little better about not getting a horse. “What is it??” Gabbie asked, while she knew it wasn’t a horse, she hoped it was something else that might help heal her broken heart.
Photobucket
“It’s a book about riding.” Raina told her handing over the package. “I thought since you couldn’t ride your own horse, you could study how to ride so when that day comes you will be prepared.” Raina continued. “Oh thank you Mom!” Gabbie said giving her mother a hug. “I can’t wait to go upstairs and read it! Thanks again!” Gabbie raced upstairs. While it didn’t fix everything it was nice to be able to read and imagine what it might be like, and for now she always had her dreams. Hopefully one day in the not to distant future she might have that horse she saw in her dream Christmas Eve.

~~The End~~

Poll is now closed! Appaloosa Plains is the winning town! I have begun work on moving the Groves, so hopefully I will have another chapter out soon! Thanks to everyone who voted!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Very Merry Christmas Special

  1. Kaylee says:

    It’s been forever since you’ve last uploaded. I’m missing the groves Family. Like a lot!!!

    • groveslegacy says:

      I know 😦 I have the screenshots for the next chapter (or two) but I can’t use my editing software anymore, I need to get a new one. Also I’m back in school, so life has been hectic.. I promise to get on it as soon as I can though!!

      • Kaylee says:

        Don’t worry take your time. I so understand, I’ve just finished school but I still have TONNES of homework to do.
        It was good to know you hadn’t vanished off the face of the earth.

  2. groveslegacy says:

    Thanks for understanding 🙂 Hubby is ordering a new photoshop for me, so if I have it by spring break I can get caught up some!!

  3. dglegacy says:

    Hi, groveslegacy!
    I’m going to start a legacy myself and I was wondering if you could help me on how to link up the chapters into the chapters page. I have no idea what I’m supposed to be doing!
    It’s called The DeGaridel Legacy and so yeah.
    That’s it, I guess.
    Reply back!!

    • groveslegacy says:

      If you are using wordpress it’s fairly simple I use posts for my chapters then I will create a chapter page and just type the names of the chapters out, highlight them and then click the button that looks like a chain link and it will pull up a menu showing your posts and you just select which one you want to link it to and it should do the rest for you! HTH 🙂

      • dglegacy says:

        I probably seem SO stupid saying this but could you explain more simpler. (I am so sorry but I don’t exactly understand. I hope this is not too much to ask but could you temporarily make a page with instructions and screenshots so I know what I’m doing.
        If you can’t I totally understand it’s just that when I’m in “editing mode” I’m just like WTF?
        So reply when you can. I also totes agree with Kaylee about them having another kid.

      • groveslegacy says:

        I will see what I can do! It may be the weekend though because tomorrow I am back to school and have a test I need to study for tonight. But Friday or Saturday I should have time!! 🙂

      • groveslegacy says:

        I’m sorry I haven’t gotten back to you. It has been a hectic week. Let me see if I can’t get something put together now while I have a few minutes 😉

  4. Kaylee says:

    I was also thinking isn’t it time Finley and Raina have another kid.
    I’ve already got some names.
    If it’s a girl then: Gaia (pronounced Guy, ya), Gemma, Georgia, Giselle or Genevieve. Whichever you prefer.
    If it’s boy perhaps: Gavin, Gabriel, Gary or Gale.
    Omg, I can’t wait for the next chapter and I really hope Gabrielle gets her horse. I mean Appaloosa plains did win. Soooo. I can only imagine what’s in store next.
    I hope you don’t mind this question but,
    Since you have a husband and son, how are you back at school?
    I REALLY hope that didn’t come across as rude. (Sorry if it did).

    • groveslegacy says:

      Thanks for those, although I don’t think they will be having anymore 😉 And I SHOULD have a chapter up really soon(I HOPE!). I don’t mind you asking 😉 It’s actually quite an accomplishment now that both kids are in school I can attend while they are at school. Another semester or two at the most and I will have my associates! yay! Then I will transfer for my bachelors next fall 🙂

  5. LadyMerewen says:

    Aaw, a lovely chapter! 🙂

  6. Kaylee says:

    So when’s the next part.

  7. mollyhillz says:

    Stumbled across your legacy by chance and I have to say that I am 100% hooked. I love your storylines and attention to detail and look forward to reading more. 🙂

  8. Kiki says:

    Um if you don’t mind answering, how many views does your blog get in 48 hours? I was here last week and it only had 50K but now it has 53K o.o

    • groveslegacy says:

      It varies greatly! lol I took a peek at the stats and it looks like lately the average has been about 70-125 hits a day. But I know myself I have been shocked at the way it’s climbing lately, I guess everyone is hoping I will update soon! Which I will, I promise!! Life just has been my first priority 😉

      • Kiki says:

        70-125… o.o I have another blog that I help my friend with, all we can get is 15-35 per day as an average, we have tried to get it higher and its working! Yeah we all understand that life is more important than blogging, I’m sure It’s the same for everyone. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  9. Kaylee says:

    This is probably going to be annoying for you but are you almost done sorting out the pictures and text. I REALLY want to see what happens next.

  10. groveslegacy says:

    Yeah I know I am so far behind! I really was planning to get one out last week but I’ve had some family issues and life has been crazy. Hoping to have it all straightened out soon and school will be over for me in a few weeks, so I should have more time!! Sorry for all the delays!!

Leave a Reply

