A Groves Thanksgiving


Remember this house? Well you should! It’s the house of the famous Ellie Groves! Also fall has arrived here in Longview, and that means… THANKSGIVING time! I know it’s been a while since everyone has seen the Groves, but trust me it should be worth the wait when I get back to writing next month! For now I just wanted to wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving 🙂 

“Hi Finley! How is everyone? Good, well I believe dinner should be ready about 4pm, head over whenever you all feel like it! Love you son.” Ellie said hanging up the phone.  It had been a while since she had seen Finley, Raina and Gabbie who had just started school this fall. 

“Better start cooking!” Ellie said to no one in particular. It was going to be a regular Thanksgiving feast with all the trimmings! Ellie may have been a super star but she had enough of her head that she was capable of cooking for herself and her family.

While the turkey cooked Ellie got started preparing the pumpkin pie. Thanksgiving just wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without pumpkin pie! ‘Milk, eggs, flour, spices…. and what else?’ Ellie thought for a moment.. ‘oh yeah, pumpkin of course!’ As she continued cooking a light rain began to fall outside.

“I hope the kids make it here ok in this storm Baby.” Ellie said to her cat, which she had gotten to keep her company when Lance passed. Just as the words had left her mouth she head the front door swing open and footsteps running into the kitchen.

“Grandma!!!” Gabbie cried out running into Ellies arms. “Oh there’s my big little grand-daughter! How are you sweetheart?!” Ellie asked. “Good! Hungry, where’s the food!?” Gabbie yelled. “It’s on the table, let’s go eat!” Ellie said giving her a wink.

“Wow Grandma this is the best turkey EVER!” Gabbie exclaimed with her mouth full of food. “Glad you think so sweetie. How about you Finley? You like your old Mom’s turkey still?” Ellie asked. “Of course I do Mom, but what I’m really waiting for is a piece of your pumpkin pie!” Finley replied. “Oh yes, I agree!” Raina chimed in. “Ewww!! PUMPKIN??” replused Gabbie. “Well you don’t have to eat it sweetheart, more for the rest of us!” Ellie laughed.

“Mmmm, Mom I don’t know how you do it but this pie gets better with every bite!” Finley said, shoveling in another bite. “Thank you, I’m glad everyone has enjoyed their food. I know I have enjoyed you all being here with me again. This house feels so empty some days.” Ellie replied.

“Thanks so much for having us over Mom.” Finley said giving Ellie a big hug. “Anytime son, anytime! You guys are welcome to come over whenever you feel, so don’t be strangers!” Ellie said hugging him back. “Happy Thanksgiving Mom, take care and call me if you need anything ok?” Finley replied. “Happy Thanksgiving to you too son, and I will. Love you!” Ellie said waving as they left.

Hope you all enjoyed Thanksgiving with the Groves! Thank you all for being such big fans of my story! Without you I wouldn’t have a reason to keep on writing! See you all in December!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Groves Thanksgiving

  1. Evelyn says:

    So glad to see you are still writting the Groves legacy, and looking forward to Decembers 🙂

  2. cassie says:

    yay your back!!! missed the groves! happy holidays 🙂

Leave a Reply

