Gen 6 Chapter 8


Another Chapter from Raina’s point of view….

I couldn’t get Fin off my mind, no matter how hard I tried. Everywhere I looked in our house there he was. The feeling of emptiness was almost more than I could bear. But I knew I had to get through these next few months, not only for myself, not only for Fin, but for our little one as well.

I decided one of the best ways to beat my boredom would be to work on the baby’s room. As soon as I stepped in I had a ton of ideas coming flooding into my head. This was going to be a great little project for me and I couldn’t wait to get started!

I also had Yazzie to hang out with and keep me company. When we both would get to feeling really down we’d head over to the local spa and get prenatal massages! It always made us both feel so much more relaxed afterwards, and took our minds off things even if it was just temporarily.

It didn’t take me quite as long as I thought but I got the nursery all done in about 3 months! Still had a couple to go until the baby would be here, but from what I’ve heard you’re completely miserable those last couple months so at least I will get to relax instead of worry about being ready. I lucked out and got some nice hand-me-downs from Fins Mom that I guess have been in the family for quite some time.

That night I dreamed Fin was home sleeping next to me, all snuggled up. I was so happy that I felt like I was going to burst! The whole thing seemed so real, and I didn’t want to wake up if it wasn’t.

Unfortunately it was just a dream and when I woke up the next morning Fin wasn’t there. I almost felt like crying but instead I drug myself out of bed and decided to call Yazzie. I figured we could both use a day out and get our minds off of it all. The time our husbands would be home and babies would be born was getting close, although neither of us knew exactly when for either of those things.

Yazzie was all too quick to agree we needed to get out of the houses and get some fresh air so she rushed over and we headed out to the Longview mall in my car. We turned up the music and sang as we drove the hour drive there, it would prove to be worth it!

There was so much to do there, we decided to just walk around and take it all in. When we passed a photo booth I couldn’t resist getting some silly photos of us both about to pop! This would be great to show Fin when he got home!

As we were waiting on the photos Yazzie made the comment she was getting tired. I agreed with her though, I was starting to feel my ankles swell and we still had another hour drive back to my house. “Ok, I got them. Let’s get out of here!” I announced pulling the photos out of the machine.

“Oh! The baby’s kicking Raina! Come feel!” Yazzie cried on our way out of the mall. It was such a crazy feeling when it wasn’t your own belly making all that commotion! “That’s an active one you have their Yaz! You’re gonna have your hands full!” I said jokingly.

Once back at the house we changed into our PJ’s and tried to decide what to do with our night next. It was almost like being back in high school. “I’m starving! Let’s order a pizza!” I yelled with almost a little too much excitement. “Oohh that sounds really good.. what kind of toppings should we get?!” Yaz replied.

We sat there and argued about toppings for a good 20 minutes or so before one of us had the brilliant idea to order TWO pizzas! I was just about to pull out my phone when the baby gave me one powerful kick that just about sent me into the floor.

I hopped up and let out a yell that sent Yazzie to her feet. “Raina! Are ok?! OMG You’re in labor! Come on let’s get to the hospital NOW!” she cried grabbing our things. I guess there would be no pizza for either of us tonight!!

We got to the hospital just in time too! By the time they got me checked in I was already pushing! And then it wasn’t much longer until our little one arrived. All ten fingers and toes, eyes like mine and her Daddy’s little nose. I couldn’t believe that he had to miss this! It was heartbreaking.

I couldn’t believe our little girl was here! Luckily Fin and I had discussed names during our brief chats so I didn’t have to leave without naming her. Gabrielle Groves, our brand new baby girl! And at least I hadn’t been alone. I had my friend with me, Yazzie, in the very next bed!

That’s right! Yazzie went into labor shortly after we arrived at the hospital and her little boy, James, was born shortly after little Gabrielle! The only thing that could make this night any better would be if our husbands could have been here to see it all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gen 6 Chapter 8

  1. OnendOnliYazzie says:

    Love this chapter! Gabrielle is such a beautiful name! Can’t wait to see her all grown up!!

  2. Evelyn says:

    I love this legacy! Looking forward to the nect chapter….and the next generation! 🙂

  3. Antebello says:

    Awe, it’s so cute that they had their babies on the same day. Could they end up together? Having images of a slightly planned wedding.

  4. Maisie says:

    When will the next chapter be out?

Leave a Reply

