Gen 6 Chapter 5



When that morning finally came I didn’t want to go. Waking up next to her was the best feeling in the world and I wasn’t ready for it to end. But it had to, we both had to go to work. Knowing that made it that much harder. Not only would I be getting out of bed, but we wouldn’t see each other for the rest of the day.

When I finally managed to pry myself from under the covers I slunk down to have a cup of coffee. Today was going to be an easy day at work, just a lot of paper work getting myself settled into my first duty station. “Love you Fin! See you after work!” Raina called out on her way to her new job. She had talked with my Mom about a lot apparently and gotten a job with an interior design company my great great (remember a lot of greats!) Grandmother founded many years ago.

On my way home from work I stopped by the shelter and found this little lady! She looked so sad and alone I just had to get her for Raina! And of course I named her, Lady. I couldn’t wait to see the look on Raina’s face when she saw her! She was going to make a wonderful addition to our new family.

Raina called to tell me she was working a little later than she expected, and while I was disappointed I decided that I would have dinner ready when she did get home. Since I’m not a whiz in the kitchen like she is I broke out our new grill and made hotdogs, I mean how hard could those be?

Raina was surprised and happy to see she didn’t have to worry about cooking. So much so she sat down and began stuffing her face like she hadn’t eaten all day. “So how was your first day at work?” I asked finally. “Very– good–” Raina managed to mumble through mouthfuls. “Well I have a surprise for you when you’re finished.” I said, when all of a sudden, *squeak squeak*.

Lady was going to town on her little toy hotdog. Raina was absolutely speechless at first when she noticed her in the living room. Made me a little nervous that she wasn’t happy about our new little family member.

As we were getting ready for bed though she grabbed a hold of me and said, “Fin I feel like one of the luckiest women to have a husband like you. So caring a sensitive. I can’t wait for our family to grow even more.” she finished with a wink. Which I knew what that meant. “I’ll be in bed in just a minute! I have to run down and let Lady out one more time.” I said giving her a kiss and ran downstairs.

Just as I was heading back upstairs my phone rang, it was work. What on earth would they want at this hour? “Hello?” I said as I answered the phone. It was my Sergeant, he wanted to tell me about a mission to Al Simhara I had been selected for. It was going to be a 6 month mission in which I would have to be away from Raina.

How on earth was I going to tell her? We knew it was a possibility, but a slim one at that. The more I thought about it, the more upset I became. “Everything ok down there Fin?” Raina called from upstairs. “Yeah, I’m on my way.” I said turning off the light. I would have to wait and tell her another time. I didn’t this to ruin our night together.

The next morning I felt a little better about the situation, but I still wasn’t sure how to break it to Raina. Afterall she would have Lady to keep her company and 6 months wasn’t that long.. right? I tried to push it out of my mind, but I just couldn’t. I knew it was going to break her heart, and of all the people in the world I didn’t want to be the one to hurt her.

I gathered up my nerve to tell her, but the minute I walked into her office I lost it again. She was so happy, humming to herself and sketching out plans, I felt almost like I was breaking up with her, which I would never do! “What’s going on Fin?” Raina asked when she finally noticed I was in the room with her.

She stood up and I took her by the hand, trying to find the words I was going to use. Suddenly, like verbal diarrhea, it just exploded out of my mouth, “The military is deploying me for 6 months to Al Simhara!”. I felt relief but I also braced myself for what was going to follow, which at first, was nothing.

I could tell she was trying to hold it in, but finally a tear ran down her cheek. As she wiped it away, I told her how sorry I was, that if I could stay with her and do my job I would. “I… I.. will be ok. I just… don’t want to lose you Fin. Please promise you will be careful!” Raina sobbed.

I took her into my arms and held her tight. “I promise I will be ok, and I will be back before you know it.” I whispered into her ear. She held me tighter as a response to what I said. We stood there for a long while, just holding each other. I tried to take it all in, the way she felt, smelled, all of it I wanted to remember when I had to be apart from her. It would be the hardest six months of my entire life, but I was ready. Ready for it to be over.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gen 6 Chapter 5

  1. Evelyn says:

    Just a quick note to say how much I enjoy reading your stories. 🙂 Thank you for sharing

  2. Antebello says:

    Leaving so soon after the wedding? It’s so sad, I wonder what kind of mission he is going on…I hope it’s nothing dangerous.

Leave a Reply

