Gen 6 Chapter 4



Graduation from basic seemed to be one of the happiest days of my life, but that was all about to change. Raina surprised me by having our entire wedding planned out in those few weeks and I jumped at the chance to marry her as soon as possible!

Seeing Raina standing there in her wedding dress brought me back to my 13th birthday, when I first began to see her as more than just a friend. Everyone dreams of marrying their best friend and for me it was actually happening! I don’t think I could have been any happier, which was totally apparent by the cheesy smile I couldn’t wipe off my face if I tried.

I felt completely numb as I recited my vows and placed my great great(a lot of greats!) Grandmothers ring onto Raina’s finger. It was the first time someone (not blood related) had worn it in our family. I heard Mom sobbing, happy tears of course, in the first row of the church.

I don’t know how to explain the way I felt as Raina recited her vows to me. I think in some ways I was in utter shock and disbelief. I felt like I was waiting to wake up from a dream because this all seemed to good to be true!

Taking her hands in mine I sort of snapped back to the reality. I could once again hear sobbing and cheering (from my army buddies) out in the little crowded church. This was it! It really had happened, Raina and I were married and now I wouldn’t have to be separated from her again!


It seemed we were almost literally inseparable from the ceremony right down to the reception! We just couldn’t get enough of each other. Almost like we were hormonal teenagers all over again! For the most part everyone carried on and celebrated our marriage without commenting on the fact we looked more like Siamese twins than a married couple. But finally Mom tapped me on the shoulder and told me it was time to cut the cake.

While cutting the cake I was actually able to notice just how beautiful all the decorations were. Raina and my Mom must have worked really hard on it all, I’m not even really sure how they were able to pull it all off in such a short period of time. Still, none of it compared to how beautiful my lovely new bride was. Yes, I’m cheesy, but seriously?! Just look at her!

We went back to dancing, although the music was a little fast for us to be constantly kissing (darn DJ!) but we still were having a blast as well as everyone else. The party was going perfectly until out of the corner of my eye I spied someone I didn’t remember seeing before at the ceremony. Upon closer inspection my worst fears had been confirmed.

It was a pesky paparazzi! While neither Raina or I had been bothered by them in the past, after all we grew up being stalked, it really sort of killed the mood for us. “Shall we go?” I asked her, for the first time without a smile on my face. “Yes, please!” she answered back taking my hand she and I snuck out the back way.

It felt so good to be going to my new home with my new wife, to begin our new life together! We both wanted a quieter lifestyle now that we didn’t have to live with our super star parents. Tonight was to be the beginning of that life, and I was practically bursting with excitement before we even got in the front door!

We wasted absolutely no time finding the master bedroom. Afterall there would be plenty of time to see the rest of the house. Tonight was our wedding night, and since we didn’t have time for a honeymoon I planned to make it the best night of both our lives.

I know I’ve said this already, but I just can’t get over how beautiful Raina is. Somehow she looks even more beautiful than I remember. Looking into her eyes I knew I could face anything life may have to throw at us. With her by my side I was invincible, or at least I felt like I was. I don’t know what I would do without her.

“I love you Mrs. Groves!” I whispered to her. “And I love you Mr. Groves.” she said in a sassy voice. “You better not ever leave me, I don’t think my heart could bear it.” I said back in a more serious voice. “Nothing on the face of this earth could remove me from your arms, Fin.” Raina replied, seeing I wasn’t just being coy after all. And with that we melted into each others arms, where we stayed for the rest of the night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gen 6 Chapter 4

  1. OnendOnliYazzie says:

    Well I had alot to catch up on but I finally got all caught up. Congrats to Fin & Raina! Im happy to see you posting again I’ve missed your legacy πŸ™‚

  2. Samantha says:

    Im glad to see the groves family back! these two are so cute πŸ™‚

  3. Antebello says:

    I’m a bit behind, but I loved this chapter. Raina looked amazing in that dress! Though, do I sense a hint of foreshadowing?

  4. Thank goodness.
    I checked back here everyday from March till May waiting for an update.
    I’m glad you’re back. Love your stories πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

