Gen 5 Chapter 12


My labor was quick, but I won’t say it was easy. Of course it was totally worth all the pain for our little bundle of joy! Finley Groves was born a healthy, adorable little boy whom both I and his father were completely head of heels for! Bringing him home the next day was the best feeling I had ever had, and I was a little sad I had decided to return to work and leave him so soon.

I did have a couple weeks off and I had decided that I would make the most of them. I spent whatever time I could cuddling and playing with my precious baby boy. At least his Daddy was going to be the one taking care of him because I don’t know if I could have left him with anyone else.

The weeks flew by a lot faster than I had expected and it was finally time to go back to work. I knew Fin would be fine at home with Lance, he was a very good Daddy. In fact he was better than I could have ever imagined or even hoped for.

My return to work was a lot harder than I imagined. I had a ton of things to catch  up on and apparently my agent had booked a lot of after hours promotions and things I wasn’t aware of. Like a meeting at the business center, which ended up with me investing a huge chunk of money and becoming their partner.

Secondly I was signed up to host a hospital benefit for sick children. It was a little disturbing to say the least. I felt so bad for those kids and their parents that I was extremely grateful I was blessed with a healthy baby. I ended up investing with them as well, I know I would have wanted someone like me to do the same if it was my child that needed the care.

Working more than full time the weeks and months passed by and within a blink of an eye my baby was barely a baby anymore! Lance was still doing an awesome job being Mommy and Daddy and had actually quit his job at the school! In some ways I’ll admit I was a little jealous of what he had with our son. Getting to spend time reading, and playing with him all day, sure seemed better than what I was doing.

“How’s the best Daddy in the world doing this evening?” I said sneaking into Fins room just as he was tucking him in for the night. “Oh just fine, we were just finishing up a story ‘Blue eggs and ham’! Can you imagine??” Lance said all excited. I couldn’t have been more attracted to him at the moment for some reason his nurturing side was more of a turn on than anything else about him.  

I couldn’t resist the urge to kiss him, even with little Finley watching us. Although Lance seemed a bit disturbed when he noticed him looking at us, so he suggested we take our activities downstairs and let him get some sleep!

Lance desperately wanted to have another child, he asked every time we were about to woo hoo if we could try, but I told him that at this point I just didn’t have the time to take off of work. Plus I really didn’t know if I wanted another baby, not that I didn’t love kids, but I barely had any time for the one I already had!

When I did get time with him, however, I cherished it. Every single second I had I played with him and there were a few moments the thought of expanding our family seemed like a good idea, but they were fleeting. I knew Lance could do it, but I don’t think I could.

Fin was such a fast learner, but that could have been because he had the best teacher in the world! Lance had the boy walking and talking shortly after he turned 1, and potty trained at 2! I must say I don’t think I could have done that on my own!

The older Fin got though, he also became a little more tempermental. Not sure what exactly was going on with him, but Lance insisted it was just a phase and he would grow out of it. I could only hope so, or else we were going to be in for it when he got to be a teenager!

After all the hard work I had been doing since Finley was born I finally have something to show for it! I won a Simmy Award for best actress! I felt like I was on top of the world with all my success in my career and a wonderful husband and son backing me up.

With all the work I was doing Finley’s birthday seemed to get here in no time! At least we had a little family bash this time complete with a cake! I cheered my little man on as Lance helped him blow out his candles. I couldn’t wait to see what he looked like as he got older.

He was just as handsome as his Daddy, maybe even more! But he still seemed to have a little bit of an attitude. Still Lance assured me it was probably nerves about starting school, I just hoped I hadn’t caused it by being so absent in his life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gen 5 Chapter 12

  1. Samantha says:

    love this legacy 🙂

Leave a Reply

