Gen 5 Chapter 11


With work being super busy I hadn’t had time to acknowledge the fact something was definitely happening to me. But once that little belly began to show I could ignore it no longer. Lance and I were going to have a baby! Work probably wouldn’t be happy with me, and may even cut my role but for once I didn’t care.

When I told Lance I was expecting he was happier than I had ever seen him. “Oh Ellie I can’t wait to meet our baby! Finally I’m going to be a Daddy!” he said wrapping his arms around me. “I love you.” I said back to him. “And I love you more.” he replied smiling.

Not knowing a lot about babies I decided I should pick up some reading material for both myself and Lance. I wanted us both to be as prepared as possible when our little bundle of joy arrived!

My pregnancy brought out a side of myself I had never seen before. All of a sudden I had this urge to cook and bake like never before. I learned a few new recipes from the cooking channel which of course I had to try out right away, for example cookies, yum!

Secondly I couldn’t resist cleaning everything in sight! Even if it was barely dirty. I just wanted to clean-

and clean–

and clean some more! I was beginning to wonder if this baby was going to be a neat freak!

Later after I had cleaned all I could I sat down to read one of my pregnancy books. I was now in my second trimester according to the book. It also mentioned something called ‘nesting’ which a lot of women apparently experienced which was an urge to clean and re-arrange things in preperation for the baby’s arrival. That certainly made me feel better that what I was doing was considered normal!

Lance was already head over heels for our little one. In the evenings he loved to listen to my tummy. “I hear him growling!!” Lance exclaimed pulling his head away. “That’s my stomach silly!” I teased back. We both laughed, “Also him could be a her too you know!” I said sticking my tongue out at him.

“Well him or her doesn’t matter to me. I will love whoever it is that comes out of there.” he replied smiling. I could tell he was going to be a great Daddy. “Here” I said handing him the book I read earlier, “Why don’t you sit and read up on this, just so we both know what we’re going to be dealing with!” he took the book and sat down motioning for me to join him.

So I sat down next to him and turned on the TV. It was nice for one to be able to take it easy and not have to worry about work for a while. Although I did miss certain parts of it, Lance had already decided that he would take some time off and stay home with the baby so I could get back into production right away. That was really the only way they would let me keep my role in this upcoming film. In the mean time they were filming parts of the movie I wasn’t in.

All of a sudden flames burst out of the fireplace catching my Grandfathers guitar and one of our bookshelves on fire! Lance got up and began extingushing them right away but I was terrified! I felt frozen in one spot unable to help him in any way.

Lance put out the fire as quick as he could but the guitar and bookcase were completely ruined. I was so upset. Poor Lance, he felt bad too since he had been the one who really wanted to fireplace going. I was always too scared of it, and apparently I was for a very good reason. Having had enough excitement for that night we both went off to bed.

The next morning I woke to find everything back in their orignal condition. Lance must have called someone in early to help restore them, to which I was grateful. All of a sudden though I felt this sharp pain. “Oh!!” I cried out.

Another pain, even more intense followed the first one. “Ahhhh.. LANCE, help ME!” I screamed as loudly as possible. “I think it’s TIIIIMEE!!”

I had never seen a man run so fast in his life! He began loading our things in the car while I waddled as quickly as I could to the car to wait for him. It wouldn’t be long now and we would be meeting our baby!!

Once at the hospital Lance slowed down to help me get inside safely. He was smiling so big you would have thought he had just won the lottery! I wish I could have had half of his enthusiasm but right now I was in too much pain to be happy! In fact I couldn’t wait for this part to be over!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gen 5 Chapter 11

  1. Abigail2244 says:

    This legacy is so awesome! I love it! Great chapter! I’m excited to see if the baby is a boy or girl.

  2. Samantha says:

    Love it 😉

Leave a Reply

