Gen 5 Chapter 5


When the phone rang early that morning I wasn’t prepared for the question I was about to be asked. “Hello?” I said in a groggy voice. “Hey sweets! I know it’s early.. but well I wanted to ask you something important.” Lance said with excitement in his voice. “Ok, what’s that.” I replied. “Would you like to move in with me?” he blurted out finally. I was completely speechless.

After giving myself a minute to think I responded to his question. “I would love to! In fact I’ll be over after work!” I said happily. “I can’t wait!” was his reply, then the line went dead. We had only been together for a few short weeks but already I knew I wanted to spend the rest of my life with him! We had so much in common and I just felt so at home with him. Much more than I did here in my own house, now the only thing left was to tell my mom!

I raced downstairs hoping she would be awake at this hour. Since she’s gotten older though she has become more of a morning person. “Hey Mom, I have to talk to you about something.” I said. She turned slowly and nodded to me to continue. “Well Lance, asked me to move in with him, and well I said yes!!” I finished and waited for her response. I almost hoped she would be a little upset, but I couldn’t tell by her expression.

“Sweetie you are a grown woman, do whatever makes you happy, and I’ll be happy” Mom said with a smile. I guess it was sort of a relief but I knew she had hoped to pass this house down to me one day and moving out, well I don’t know if I would ever go back or not. “Thanks Mom. I love you.” I said turning to leave for work. “Just remember this is still your home so come visit anytime.” she shouted after me as I walked out of the house.

Luckily the work day flew by and before I knew it I was snuggling my boyfriend on my new couch in my new house! It was so unbelievably perfect! I was a very lucky girl! I had just landed a new job on a TV sitcom, and so I brought the preview tapes home for Lance and I to watch and review.

“You’re such a talented woman Ellie.” Lance said leaning in close. I giggled with excitement and I could feel my face growing hot. “You’re just saying that!” I teased. “No, really. I knew you were something special back when I taught you drama in high school. You have a natural talent unlike some of the people I’ve taught over the years.” Lance replied sincerely. This made me so happy to hear, but also made me realize how much older he was than me. I had known all along, but just never really thought about it until then.

I excused myself to go cook dinner while Lance finished watching my taping. Suddenly I was a little nervous. Lance had so much more life experience than me and could probably have his pick of any woman in town, so why me? Then I got to thinking about what was to happen after dinner.. I’d never slept with anyone before. What on earth was I to do once I get into bed with him?!

When that time came I decided it was probably best I speak up about it, instead of risking looking like a fool. Clearing my throat I said, “You know Lance I’ve never been with anyone before you.” hoping that would get my point across. “Ellie the girls in my past don’t matter at all anymore. It’s just you and me from here on out.” Lance replied smiling. “That wasn’t exactly what I meant..” I said under my breath.

Then Lance took my hand in his and kissed it gently. “Love, you have nothing to worry about. I will be a gentleman, I promise.” he said lovingly. My whole body just seemed to melt and filled with a desire I had never before felt. Again I couldn’t believe how lucky I was to have met him, it truly felt like fate had brought us together again.

Before I knew it we were making out and exploring new ways of being together. This was ultimately the best night of my life up until that point and I knew that as long as I was with Lance he wouldn’t disappoint me. Our life together would be perfect! I just knew it would be!

I should have eaten my words right after they had even been a thought in my little head. The next morning I woke up to the kitchen being absolutely flooded! Apparently the sink sprang a leak in the night and had absolutely saturated everything! So I got to work fixing it and skipped breakfast, hopefully I’d make it to lunch because there would be no time before the carpool arrived!

Of course the sink was just the beginning of my craptastic day. I went to flush the toilet and it overflowed, so I spent the next few minutes plunging whatever it was that stopped it up in the first place! What a great way to start of my morning, right? Of course just then I heard the carpool and realized I wasn’t even dressed!

I had hoped work would turn out to be better than my morning had been, but I was wrong… oh so wrong. Apparently my boyfriend was the biggest sleaze ball in town! When I walked in the door one of my co-stars filled me in on that, so you can imagine the show when I got home was not pretty! “So when were you planning on telling me about all these other girls from you ‘past’? Hm????” I shouted dramatically.

But just as Lance opened his mouth to speak I cut him off again. “No you know what? I don’t want to hear any excuses! I’ve gotta go cool down a while! And maybe I’ll be back later!” and with that I stormed out the door. I made it just in time because on my way out I started crying. How could he do this to me?! I don’t know if I can ever forgive him.

I headed down to the bar where I drown my sorrows in whatever fruity cocktail the bartender was handing out. At this point I didn’t care, as long as it helped fill the emptiness inside me than we were good to go. Of course I had work the next morning bright and early so I wasn’t gone long, but a couple of drinks were all I needed to help me forget the pain, even if only temporarily.

When I got home Lance was already asleep on the couch. This was fine by me because it was already 1am and I had to be up no later than 5 to get ready for work. I didn’t want him in bed with me anyway and this way I also didn’t have to worry about him trying to feed me any lines about how “sorry” he was. What was I going to do? How could I have been so blind?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

