Gen 4 Chapter 6


Shortly after Dad’s memorial service Mom invited one of her old friends over which she hadn’t seen in years. Sure he lived in the house right behind us but they stopped hanging out quite suddenly from what I can recall. Not sure why but I guess now with Dad gone she decided to make up with this guy. At least she was still being social, I certainly wouldn’t want her sulking for the rest of her life.

Now I don’t want to jump to conclusions but they seem to be a little closer to me than simply “just friends”. I know my Mom would never have cheated on my father so I couldn’t help but wonder what the deal was with her and this guy. She didn’t bring him in to meet us, just stood outside talking for hours. The only details I remembered of her and his friendship was she always going to his house right before she conceived Daylan and then right after she just didn’t go anymore. This just kept getting weirder!

Daylan was just about to become a teenager! Something I know Mom had been dreading in a way because he was her baby and obviously he wasn’t so little anymore! We threw him a nice big party, just the family after he got home from school on Friday. He was completely surprised when he got there at the elaborate set-up we had for him.

♪ ♫“Happy Birthday to you! Happy Birthday to you! Happy Birthday Dear Daylannnnn!! Happy Birthday to yoooou!!” ♫ ♪ We all sang and cheered as he thought about what he wanted to wish for. He must have been wishing for something really fancy! The boy certainly took his sweet time!

Finally he took a deep breath and blew out his candles. It was such an excited time for the whole family. Daylan was obviously not planned since he came along so late in Mom and Dad’s life but I sure can’t imagine what it would have been like without him! He was such a great kid, I just knew he’d be an even greater adult! Plus he was sort of our little reminder of Dad since he looked so much like him.

That became even more true as he became a teenager! He had Dad’s laid back sort of style and just well just WOW! He was a carbon copy of him! He could almost literally be his twin! I could see Mom tearing up a little seeing how much he did look like him. To be perfectly honest I did too!

He then turned to Mom and held out his arms to give her a hug. It was such a sweet moment. Then I heard him say to her “Mom, I used my birthday wish on you.” and she replied with, “Son you didn’t have to do that. What else could I possibly ask for.” This next part made me have to exit the room to keep from bawling in front of everyone. “I wished for you to be happy again Mom. That’s what I want for you.”

Daylan got his wish, in the form of Mom’s friend Hugh. He came around a lot more and we all came to love him. One night he took Mom out to one of the local bars which her and Dad used to perform at when their band was big. It was good she was getting out and having a good time. Although I will admit I missed her around the house. Daylan was a big help to me though. He spent a lot of time with Eva on the weekends and in the evening. Only after his homework was done though! He insisted on doing it before anything else as soon as he got home. He was always staying busy and working hard at whatever he did. I can’t even begin to express my gratitude. Without him I doubt I would have as much time to practice my music as I did. He had also developed a love for cooking. He knew I was a vegetarian and tried to steer away from food containing meat. Which is more than I can say for anyone else, they would mostly just make whatever they wanted and if I ate it I did and if I didn’t, oh well! Sure it may have been a simple dish like Mac n’ Cheese but I was happy for the effort he showed. Mom’s evening out turned into a full-blown night on the town. She hadn’t expected to be out all night but I sure don’t remember her being home when everyone started to go to bed at 10pm! I woke up at midnight with Eva and she still wasn’t home. I wasn’t going to worry quite yet, after all she is an adult she can take care of herself right?? Plus the bars were typically open until 2am so I guess I should just wait a little longer. When I woke up again with Eva and Mom still wasn’t home I was beginning to get worried. I hadn’t gotten even a text from her saying she was ok and would be home soon. I looked at Hugh’s house too, no car there either. I wasn’t going to be able to sleep at all until I heard something from them so I plopped myself down on the couch to see what was on TV. Nothing was on of course and just as I was about to call the police I heard a car door slam. I jumped up off the couch and peeked out the window to see THIS. Mom and Hugh kissing! I don’t really know how I felt about it. I mean I knew they were dating but to see her being affectionate to another man, well I guess I felt a little betrayed. Is this why she stopped hanging out with him all those years ago? Had she been in love with him AND Dad?! I expected Hugh to go home after their date but to my horror Mom lead him into the guest house. I felt sick to my stomach. I was happy and upset with this new development and just couldn’t bare to think what they were doing over there! I guess I shouldn’t be so judgemental, they aren’t doing anything wrong, right? So why did I feel like this? Well I knew she was home safe so I decided I better try to get some rest while I could. It was almost 5am already and everyone would be getting up in a couple more hours.

Early the next morning when I managed to get myself out of bed I came out into the living room to find my Mother waiting for me. I smiled and acted like I didn’t know what was going on with her and Hugh last night, but what she was about to say I certainly wasn’t prepared to hear. “Denise guess what?! Hugh asked me to marry him last night!” she paused I guess she figured I was going to be excited but I really wasn’t. “Annnnd…” she continued, “I said YES! Isn’t this great?!” she finished. I forced a smile and said, “Yay Mom! That’s great news!” But inside I was secretly screaming.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gen 4 Chapter 6

  1. Amy6 says:

    Please tell me that Cassie is an elder? We dont want any more kids running around and she really shouldnt get pregnant when her daughter has a baby!

  2. OnendOnliYazzie says:

    Oh man! What a turn of events. Daylan grew up to be quite a looker.

Leave a Reply

