Gen 3 Chapter 9


Dad seemed to have lost whatever he had left of his mind. He went out that night of her funeral and that’s when I got a phone call from the Bistro manager, the one Mom used to work at, he said my Dad was outside talking to himself.. or at least that’s what they thought. They weren’t really sure if maybe he thought he was actually talking to someone, or something. Candice had stayed glued to the computer since we had gotten back home. I have no idea what she may have been doing, normally she would play games, but this time it appeared as if she was chatting with someone. I guess just some random person in a chat room because she doesn’t really know anyone besides us. I’m still not sure WHY she would do something like that, she normally hated to socialize. I decided I had enough of the pity party and changed my clothes. Then I went over to visit Caden and Kesha who had just had the baby and see how they were doing. I rung the bell and waited for someone to answer. I could hear a baby crying inside. I guess they were staying busy, so Caden probably hadn’t had much time to dwell on the idea of Mom being gone. When Caden finally let me inside he looked really upset. “Are you ok?” I asked. “Not really sis.” Caden began, “I’m upset I didn’t get to see Mom a couple of weeks ago when she came to visit and now, well now she’s gone forever. On top of that I didn’t even make it to her funeral!” Caden finished. “It’s ok, you know she would understand, you were busy having a new baby! To Mom that is so much more important!” I replied, hoping it would cheer him up. “How is that baby, by the way?” I asked finally, thankfully that seemed to perk Caden right up. “Oh he is adorable! A handful, but an adorable one! Would you like to see him? I think he’s finally sleeping!” Caden answered. “Sure! what did you guys name him?” I asked. “Dion Vandyke-Groves.” Caden replied. I thought to myself, why on earth did they hypenate his name? Caden must have noticed the puzzled look on my face because then he continued, “I keep forgetting Kesha and I hadn’t told everyone we finally got married, and agreed to keep both our last names.” Well then, that certainly explained it! I tip-toed into Dions room, the very same room that used to be mine when I was a baby, and that was Mom’s as well. As I stood there I got a little teary eyed watching him sleep, but it was happy tears. I’m so glad that Caden moved into the house when we moved out. I would hate to have strangers living here, raising their kids in our home.

I was extremely tired after my visit with Caden, so I returned home to go to bed, but was stopped short as soon as I walked in the door. Candice was standing there and whispered, “Cassie, I need to talk to you.” I had never heard her talk to calm and so clear. That’s when I also noticed she had a visitor, perhaps the person she was chatting with on the internet? Why on earth would she bring him here?!“Cass, I’m not sure if you and James ever met, but he is Denver’s father.” Candice began. I eyed him, he was quite old now, but I do remember him from the wedding. “We have been discussing the future and Cass, we think we should take Denver and move out.” Candice finally finished. I was shocked, I didn’t know what to say. Denver was 6 years old and in that time Candice nor James had spent much time with him at all! “Candice are you sure you know what you’re doing?” I asked her very concerned for the well-being of Denver. “I know I haven’t been there for him Cass, but James didn’t know until I contacted him and he’s offered to help me and I really would like to get to know my son, and so would he.” Candice replied. I could tell she was really serious, but I was still a bit apprehensive.  “We won’t be far away, James bought a house just around the corner from here so you can visit us whenever you like.” Candice told me. “Well I guess you’ve made up your mind, but just promise me if you can’t handle Denver or being out on your own you will come home, ok?” I asked her. “I promise Cass.” She replied and we hugged then said our goodbyes. They collected Denver and then went on their way. I couldn’t believe it, first I lose my Mom and now I feel as if I’ve lost a child too. This was the worst day of my LIFE! I had basically been Denver’s mother since he was born, fed him, changed him, taught him to walk and talk! Still, I had to be happy Candice was finally taking some responsibility and wanting to get to know him. It would probably be good for Denver in the long run.I climbed into bed, ready to pass out at that very moment. Trent however had been laying there waiting for me. “Cassie, I was wondering-” Trent began, but I stopped him short. “Trent I’m really tired, can’t this wait until tomorrow?” I asked a little irritated. “I suppose, but Cassie, I was just thinking. Perhaps with all this sadness around us, well, maybe we could have another baby?” Trent asked. I certainly wasn’t expecting that, but as I began to think about it the idea excited me too. Suddenly I had a burst of energy, I sat up and scooted towards him. “Trent that is a great idea, and we can start trying tonight if you like.” I replied with a wink.Our moment of joy wasn’t to last very long. The next day while Trent and I were out trying to make some money playing for tips in the subway station, and the girls were at school, the unexpected happened. As if it couldn’t get any worse, now my father was also gone. I believe he died of a broken heart, my mother was his world and with her gone he just didn’t seem to love life anymore. It breaks my heart that he had to pass so quickly after she had. Not barely a month had passed, and I certainly wasn’t ready for another elaborate funeral. Poor Danielle was the first to arrive home after Dad passed. She unfortunately even got to see the Grim Reaper, who seemed to enjoy torturing us this way. I was absolutely disgusted that he seemed so happy to make us so sad. His meer presence brought my poor baby to tears instantly. Danielle had been very close to her Grandfather so this time the impact was much greater on her than my Mothers death had been.I decided that it was best to leave everyone else out of it this time. I told the kids Grandpa would not have wanted us all to go back into mourning so soon, so I took it upon myself to have a very private funeral for him myself. It proved to be a bit much even for me. I thought losing my mother was hard enough, I didn’t expect to be so upset about losing my Dad, although I loved him we just weren’t as close. As I left the cemetery I decided to go visit Uncle Bently. He had managed to out live both of my parents even though he was 10 years older than my Mom. He was the only real adult in my family left, maybe he could help me understand why this had to happen this way. Surely someone could offer me some sort of closure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gen 3 Chapter 9

  1. ;Rainee says:

    R.I.P Chris and BayBay

  2. JewelsRule says:

    NOO! Another sad chapter 😥 R.I.P!

  3. Amy6 says:

    why does she have to lose everything at once?

    • groveslegacy says:

      I wish I knew 😦 I can’t believe everyone dropped dead on me like that! And then of course Chris, he mastered the athletic skill, I expected him to hang around for a while!

Leave a Reply

