Gen 2 Chapter 8


Cassie was growing up so quickly, she finally got potty trained by the time she hit 3. Now she was just about school age and I couldn’t wait to throw her a party just like we had for Caden! I wanted to do something a little different for her, but wasn’t sure just what that might be yet. She was such a girl! Always wanted her hair done up in pigtails and was always playing with her dolls! What a sweetie! Caden was quite the social butterfly and if he didn’t have his friends over he was always talking to them on the phone! He still hadn’t started dating, but that was just fine with me! He had a great sense of humor and I’d constantly hear him trying to make his friends laugh! Something he must have gotten from my Dad! One evening late after I got home from my walk I had the urge to fix myself spagetti! Such a strange thing to eat and 12:30am. In fact I hadn’t done anything like that since I was pregnant with Cassie. That’s when it dawned on me. Could I be? What if? Oh NO! It was certainly possible, that night Chris and I made up we weren’t exactly careful!So that next day I decided to take a pregnancy test. No sooner had I set the test on the counter and the double lines showed up! I was indeed pregnant! I really hadn’t wanted another child, and I certainly hadn’t figured we’d get pregnant so easily since it took us almost 5 years to concieve Cassie. As I got further along in my pregnancy I began to have even stranger cravings than my midnight spagetti and ice cream ritual. I had just learned to make cobbler and decided to try it out with watermelon! Oh my gosh was it ever GOOD! I saved it and told Chris and Caden they better not eat it all or I’d have their heads! This time I tried to keep myself in shape and continued to go for my walks. I figured it was also a clever disguise because who in the world would suspect a pregnant woman of stealing? I began looking at the beach properties since it was off-season most of the people who lived there in the summer weren’t around. It was a gold mine! They had tons of expensive things just sitting in their yards unprotected! Having a toddler and being pregnant certainly wasn’t an easy job! She was getting so heavy my back felt like it was going to literally break in half! I thought about maybe going to the Day Spa where I used to work for a massage. Maybe they would give me a discount still, that is if they even remember who I am! It had been quite a few years since I had gone by there. Did I mention it’s not fun having a toddler and being pregnant? I’m so glad I’m past the morning sickness part! The little “presents” Cassie would leave me in her potty chair were enough to make even the strongest persons stomach want to hurl! I tried my best to do my motherly duties, but I sure couldn’t wait until her birthday! Hopefully with the new baby I’d still have time to plan her big birthday bash!Chris had company that night, but go figure as soon as she was about to leave and we were all going to head off to bed I went into labor! As soon as I stood up from the couch I just got the worse contraction I think I ever felt. “OH NO! What’s wrong Mrs. G??” Greta shouted. Of course I was in too much pain to really talk, she eventually figured it out and called me a cab. This labor was different, not only had I not been woken up by my contractions, but Chris couldn’t get out of the job he was doing at the time, and wasn’t sure if he’d make it before the baby was born. I walked into the hospital that night alone. I didn’t like that one bit. I knew it wasn’t his fault, but still I wanted the father of my child to be there when they were born!Just as I had feared, Chris hadn’t made it. As I climbed in the cab to head home with my new baby girl the cab driver, who happened to be the same lady as before, said “Did you finally wise up and leave that man of yours?” I gave her another dirty look, I didn’t even want to dignify that with an answer. If I didn’t have a baby in my arms I would have beat the snot right out of her!Of course as soon as I walked in the door Chris pulled up. Once we were both inside he proceeded to apologize over and over for not being there. I tried to tell him it was ok, we both made it through fine. He just couldn’t stop feeling guilty. Honestly it made me feel a little bad too. “Well now that you are here, why don’t you get her settled in her new room?” I asked handing her over to Chris. He gladly accepted and spent the rest of the evening with our newest addition. Little Candice Groves who we welcomed into the world at 1:22am. She was a big little girl, weighing in at 9lbs 2oz and 24inch long! Even for being so big, labor was quick and easy. I guess it pays to have already had two previous births!Having two kids so close in age wasn’t an easy task. There were some benefits though, but I know they sure kept me busy! We may have had to put off some of our plans after our unexpected bundle, but once she was born I wouldn’t have changed things for the world! China certainly wasn’t going anywhere and now we’d just have one more to tag along once we did finally get to go! As much as we both loved our children I told Chris we needed to be more careful. He tried to talk me into one more, but I told him I was getting too old and just didn’t think our house could handle another baby! He reluctantly agreed and from then on we were much more careful, so as to not have anymore unexpected suprises!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gen 2 Chapter 8

  1. Amy6 says:

    Aww no more children!? They are just so cute! Great writing style and I can’t wait for the next chapter!

  2. madismith67 says:

    Im sad too!! ): Haha, I didn’t even remember she had aged into a ADULT!! (:

  3. Kiki says:

    Awww! Cassie is just SOOOOO CUTE!!!! I ā¤ the first picture of her!!!!

Leave a Reply

